This Christmas…

 

This Christmas I will reminisce

Of happy times gone by,

Of love, sharing and of laughter,

Chewed carrots and left-out mince pies.

This Christmas I will reminisce,

Of snowy Scottish skies,

The brisk sea air, the biting wind,

My family by my side.

This Christmas I will reminisce,

Of those no longer here,

They brought such love and cherished times,

Held in my heart, so dear.

This Christmas I will reminisce,

Of festive games and fun,

The roaring fire, the towering tree,

The creeping winter sun.

This Christmas I will reminisce,

My childhood giddy glee,

The sneak peek at the presents,

Sat on my grandfather’s knee,

This Christmas I will reminisce,

Of carols and spicy scents,

Turkey, trifle, chocolates galore

A house of merriment.

This Christmas I will reminisce,

Another year gone by,

Surrounded by the ones I love,

I’ll end it on a high.

Leave a Reply

